Is Pure Naturals Biotin Vegan?

I

Pure Naturals sells a fairly popular and highly rated biotin supplement.

But is it vegan?

Let’s find out…

This turned out to be a pretty simple one: Pure Naturals’ biotin is not suitable for vegans.

A quick look at the ingredients lists reveals why:

Cellulose, gelatin, magnesium stearate, and silica

Gelatin is always derived from animals (their collagen to be more specific).

The good news is that there are plenty of alternatives that are vegan and just as effective. As long as you avoid soft gel supplements you’ll typically avoid gelatin.

If you have trouble swallowing other types of pills there are dissolving tablets and gummy options available as well.

I’ve put together a guide to the best vegan biotin supplements if you’re interested, it contains 4 different options, at least one of which will fit what you’re looking for.

Alternatively, check out my list of the best vegan biotin food sources and try to get more naturally in your diet.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment