Is Srichacha Vegan?

I

The original Huy Fong Srichacha sauce is vegan.

Here are its ingredients:

INGREDIENTS: Chili, sugar, garlic, salt, distilled vinegar, potassium sorbate, sodium bisulfite, and xanthan gum

All of those are clearly vegan ingredients.

However, if you’re buying a “srichacha” sauce that is made by a different company, it may not be vegan.

These sauces often have similar, but different ingredients. Common non-vegan additions are fish sauce and shrimp paste.

So either make sure you get the original Huy Fong srichacha, or carefully check the ingredients of any close alternatives before buying.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment