Is Tofutti Cream Cheese Vegan?

I

tofutti cream cheese

Tofutti is known for their mostly vegan product lines.

If you ask me, their cream cheese is “technically” vegan.

That being said, I personally wouldn’t eat it, and many other vegans wouldn’t.

To explain, we need to have a quick look at the ingredients label.

What’s In Tofutti Cream Cheese?

Here’s the full ingredients list:

WATER, EXPELLER PROCESSED NATURAL OIL BLEND (SOYBEAN, PALM FRUIT AND OLIVE), MALTODEXTRIN, NON-GMO (SOY PROTEIN, TOFU), NON-DAIRY LACTIC ACID, BLEND OF NATURAL GUMS (LOCUST BEAN, GUAR, CELLULOSE AND XANTHAN), ORGANIC SUGAR AND SALT.

Everything there is a plant ingredient, and they even used non-dairy lactic acid.

The one controversial ingredient is the palm fruit.

See my post “is palm oil vegan” for a more detailed look before making your personal decision, but the short version is that harvest palm fruit has resulted in the majority of orangutans, tigers, and other animals in the Sumatran region to be killed.

So, Is Tofutti Cream Cheese Vegan?

After a lot of research and thinking, I personally believe that palm products are technically vegan by the most standard definitions.

But that being said, I don’t think most ethical vegans would consume palm products – I certainly don’t.

You’ll have to make up your mind about whether or not you’re okay with consuming palm.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment