Is Trident Gum Vegan? (Spoilers: Probably Not)

I

Trident definitely doesn’t make any gum that is vegan on purpose.

But many gums are vegan by accident.

I spent about an hour going through all the ingredients of different Trident product lines and flavors to see if any were vegan.

I’ll walk you through the results in this post.

Possible Non-Vegan Ingredients in Trident Gum

A few of the gums are clearly not vegan because they contain gelatin.

On top of that, every single Trident gum product has a few ingredients that may or may not be vegan. This includes:

  • Gum base – A ton of ingredients are allowed to go into gum base, and the only one who knows what they are in this case is Trident. Some gum base is vegan, and some is not.
  • Glycerine (a.k.a. Glycerol) – Glycerine can come from plant sources, but it can also come from animals. We have no way of knowing if the glycerine in Trident is vegan. This is probably not vegan in the context of gum.
  • Natural flavoring – This is another umbrella term that covers both plant and animal ingredients. Some natural flavors are vegan, and some are not. In the case of gum, it likely is vegan, we just can’t say for certain.
  • Artificial colors (e.g. red 40, yellow 5) –Artificial colors are technically vegan in my eyes, but controversial. There’s a lot of animal testing surrounding them, which is why many vegans choose to avoid them.

I’ll tell you right now, there’s no Trident gum variety that I’m confident is vegan. If you want to take a risk, that’s your call.

I’ll go through each main product line, and point out potential problem ingredients now.

Trident (Original Line)

trident original

All the standard Trident flavors and sugar-free flavors have the same base ingredients.

They include:

  • Gum base
  • Glycerine
  • Natural flavoring (other than peppermint with just “mint flavoring”)

On top of that, there are artificial colors in the non-mint flavors.

Verdict: I can’t be certain, but none of the original Trident line is likely vegan.

Trident White

trident white package

All Trident White flavors have similar ingredients to the original product line.

Not surprisingly, they also contain:

  • Gum base
  • Glycerine
  • Natural flavoring

Plus artificial colors in most flavors.

There’s also sodium stearate, which is possibly vegan (can come from plants or animals).

Verdict: I can’t be certain, but no Trident White flavors are likely vegan.

Trident Layers

trident layers

Trident layers is even worse than the other product lines, because most flavors contain gelatin, which definitely is not vegan.

On top of that, there’s the standard base ingredients of the other product lines:

  • Gum base
  • Glycerine
  • Natural flavoring
  • Artificial colors

Verdict: Trident Layers is not vegan.

Trident Splash

trident splash

Trident Splash is more similar to Layers than the original line.

It has gelatin in most flavors, although a few like splashing fruit sugar free uses pectin instead of gelatin.

Again, there’s the same common base ingredients:

  • Gum base
  • Glycerine
  • Natural flavoring
  • Artificial colors

Verdict: Trident Splash is not vegan.

Verdict: It Doesn’t Seem Like Any Trident Flavor Is Vegan

If any varieties are accidentally vegan, it would be the mint varieties of the original Trident line and Trident White.

That being said, I think there’s a very low chance that any flavors are vegan-friendly.

I would recommend finding a clearly vegan gum, or trying another popular brand like Orbit that likely has some vegan gum flavors.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment