Is Welch’s Grape Jelly Vegan?

I

Some jelly and jams are vegan, and some are not.

So let’s look at one of the most popular brands: Welch’s grape jelly.

Ingredients in Welch’s Grape Jelly

welchs grape jelly vegan

The ingredients in concord grape jelly is surprisingly short:

Concord Grapes, Corn Syrup, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Fruit Pectin, Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate

To me that’s clearly vegan, but let’s break down the ingredients one at a time so you have fewer doubts:

  • Grapes – Always vegan
  • Corn syrup – Unhealthy, but vegan
  • Fruit pectin – Straight from fruit, always vegan
  • Citric acid – Vegan, it’s made synthetically or extracted from fruit
  • Sodium citrate – Vegan, it’s just a salt of citric acid

Is Welch’s Grape Jelly Vegan?

Yes, it is vegan-friendly.

We can be almost 100% certain.

Most jams and jelly that aren’t vegan typically have gelatin in them, or sweeteners like honey.

Here, this jelly uses pectin instead of gelatin as a gelling agent (for texture), and corn syrup instead of honey as a sweetener.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment