Are Nature Valley Granola Bars Vegan? (Complete List)

A

Anything “natural” typically has a good chance of being vegan.

Some Nature Valley granola bars are clearly not vegan, but some might be depending on how strict your definition of veganism is.

I’ll go over the potential problem ingredients in each flavor of the popular “crunchy” bar line, and you can decide for yourself.

Non-Vegan Ingredients in Nature Valley Granola Bars

Before we get to the ingredients in each individual flavor, you may need some background information on why some ingredients may not be vegan:

  • Honey – Honey is not vegan for a variety of reasons.
  • Sugar – As far as I know, all Nature Valley bars are made in the United States. Not all sugar in the U.S. is vegan, because a significant portion of it is made using bone char. With a company as large as General Mills, it’s likely that at least some of their sugar is sourced from a manufacturer that uses bone char.
  • Natural flavor – The term “natural flavor” on an ingredient list is an umbrella term that can cover many ingredients, some of which aren’t vegan. I’m typically not too worried about it, but if you want to be on the safe-side, avoid it.

Which “Crunchy” Flavors Are Vegan?

nature valley bars

Of the 11 flavors, 4 have honey and are out for vegans, but the rest deserve a closer look:

FlavorPotential Non-Vegan Ingredients?Verdict
Peanut Butter Dark ChocolateHoney, Sugar, Natural FlavorNot Vegan
Oats ‘n Dark ChocolateHoney, Sugar, Natural FlavorNot Vegan
Oats ’n HoneyHoney, Sugar, Natural FlavorNot Vegan
Maple Brown SugarHoney, Sugar, Natural FlavorNot Vegan
Almond ButterSugar, Natural FlavorPossibly Vegan
Peanut ButterSugar, Natural FlavorPossibly Vegan
CoconutSugar, Natural FlavorPossibly Vegan
PecanSugar, Natural FlavorPossibly Vegan
Apple CrispSugar, Natural FlavorPossibly Vegan
Roasted AlmondSugar, Natural FlavorPossibly Vegan
CinnamonSugarPossibly Vegan

Every single bar has sugar in it, which is the main problem for me.

Summary: Can Vegans Eat Nature Valley Granola Bars?

Ultimately, it comes down to the risk you want to take.

If you’re willing to take a risk on the sugar and natural flavors not being vegan, there are quite a few options for you:

  • Almond Butter
  • Peanut Butter
  • Coconut
  • Pecan
  • Apple Crisp
  • Roasted Almond
  • Cinnamon

Unfortunately, no Nature Valley granola bars are clearly vegan, so you’d be better looking at something like Clif bars (many Clif bars are vegan) instead.

Even KIND bars are better, with a few flavors that are vegan.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment