Subway Veggie Patty Ingredients – Is It Vegan?

S

This information is accurate as of May 2019. It’s possible that the ingredients have changed since then.

Unfortunately, Subway’s veggie patty is not vegan.

There are quite a few non-vegan ingredients in it.

Subway’s Veggie Patty Ingredients

subway veggie patty

According to Subway, their veggie patty consists of:

Water, water chestnuts (water chestnuts, water, citric acid), onions, carrots, cooked brown rice (water, brown rice), whole grain oats, mushrooms, egg whites, wheat gluten, soy flour, corn oil, calcium caseinate (from milk), greenpeppers, soy sauce (water, soybeans, salt, wheat), red bell peppers, contains two percent or less of soy protein concentrate, cornstarch, onion powder, salt, black olives, hydrolyzed vegetable protein (corn, wheat, and soy protein), sugar, soy protein isolate, spices, yeast extract, garlic powder, dried jalapeno peppers, natural flavors, sunflower oil, cottonseed oil, dextrose. Due to alternate product availability may also contain: zucchini, leek, celery, herbs, spices,potato starch and palm fat. Contains soy, wheat, egg, milk

So while the veggie patty is fine for vegetarians, Subway’s veggie patty is not vegan.

There are multiple dairy ingredients:

  • Egg whites
  • Calcium caseinate (from milk)

On top of those, there’s also “sugar” in it.

Sugar can be vegan, but it can also not be vegan if it was filtered with bone char. The only way to know would be to contact Subway itself, but since there are obvious dairy ingredients, I don’t see a point to.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment