Is Tapioca in Bubble Tea Vegetarian or Vegan?

I

Verdict: Tapioca in bubble tea is vegan.

Summary:

  • Tapioca is made from cassava root – a plant. Read full details below.
  • As long as the rest of your tea is vegan, you’re all set. See my guide to vegan bubble tea for more.

bubble-tea

Bubble tea is awesome, and the good news is that you can still enjoy it on a vegan or vegetarian diet as long as you are careful.

Assuming there’s no milk, honey, or jelly made from gelatin in your tea, that just leaves one thing…

What are those gummy tapioca pearls at the bottom of your bubble tea made of?

Based on the texture, you might suspect that it has gelatin.

Thankfully, tapioca is made only from plants, specifically, the cassava root (also called yucca).

How Tapioca Pearls Are Made From Cassava Root

cassava-root

Cassava root is a tuber that looks a lot like a sweet potato. You’ve probably seen it before and not even known what it was.

It’s mainly grown in Brazil, Nigeria, and Thailand, but originally came from South America and the Caribbean.

Tapioca is the starch that’s extracted from cassava root.

Once the plant is grown, toxins are removed from the roots, and then the starch is removed and turned into a bunch of products: flakes, powder, and pearls.

SUMMARY

Tapioca is 100% carbohydrate (gluten-free), and is completely vegan.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment