Which Panera Bagels Are Vegan? (2020 List)

W

Panera Bread has a decent number of vegan options when it comes to bagels.

The following bagels appear to be vegan-friendly:

  • Plain
  • Everything
  • Blueberry
  • Cranberry Walnut
  • Sesame Bagels

The only reason I use the word “appear” is because these bagels have sugar or brown sugar in them.

In North America, some white and brown sugar isn’t vegan because it’s made using bone char. 

However, since Panera Bread has mentioned in the past that some of these bagels were vegan, I think it’s a safe assumption that the sugar isn’t an issue and that it hasn’t changed.

If you’d like to be 100% sure, contact their customer service.

Which Bagels Aren’t Vegan

Just for the sake of completeness, I thought I’d quickly highlight why the other bagels are not vegan-friendly.

They all have at least one obviously non-vegan ingredients.

Additionally, most of them contain palm oil, which is a controversial ingredient among vegans.

Bagel Non-Vegan Ingredient(s)
Sprouted Grain Bagel Flat Honey
Cherry Vanilla Bagel Nonfat Milk Powder, Whole Milk Powder, Whey Powder
Chocolate Chip Bagel Milk Chocolate Drops (Sugar, Whole Milk Powder, Chocolate Liquor, Cocoa Butter, Milk Fat
Whole Grain Bagel Honey
French Toast Bagel Nonfat Milk Powder, Egg base
Cinnamon Crunch Bagel Nonfat Milk Powder, Whole Milk Powder, Whey Powder
Asiago Cheese Bagel Cheese
Cinnamon Swirl & Raisin Bagel Nonfat Milk Powder

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned.

Add comment