The Complete List of Vegan Cereals With Vitamin B12

T

I spent a few hours looking for vegan cereals with vitamin B12 in them.

Unfortunately, there aren’t too many options.

And if you don’t like the options, you’re stuck with vegan vitamin B12 supplements for now.

Anyways, I’ve divided the cereals into 2 lists:

  1. Clearly vegan cereals – I’m very confident these are vegan
  2. Maybe vegan cereals – These contain some ingredients that may or may not be vegan, depending on how you view certain things. I’ll elaborate in that section.

I’m very hopeful that I can add to this list over time as more vegan cereals pop up.

Also, I looked at major brands. You may be able to find a niche brand that local stores carry that has B12, so don’t give up all hope until you double-check.

Vegan Cereals With B12

kashi cereal box

Only one brand for now has cereal that is clearly vegan and has vitamin B12 added to it – Kashi.

Not all of Kashi’s flavors are vegan, so you need to be a bit careful, since many have honey in them.

I’ve made a detailed guide to vegan Kashi cereals that you can refer to for the full details, or just stick to these Kashi varieties:

  • 7 Whole Grain Flakes Cereal
  • 7 Whole Grain Puffs Cereal
  • Cinnamon French Toast Cereal
  • Chocolate Crunch
  • Cinnamon Crumble
  • Toasted Berry Crumble
  • Maple Brown Sugar Flake & Clusters
  • Peanut Butter Crunch
  • Organic Blueberry Clusters Cereal
  • Organic Indigo Morning Cereal
  • Organic Sprouted Grains Cereal
  • Organic Strawberry Fields® Cereal
  • Organic Sweet Potato Sunshine Cereal
  • Whole Wheat Biscuits, Autumn Wheat
  • Whole Wheat Biscuits, Berry Fruitful
  • Whole Wheat Biscuits, Cinnamon Harvest
  • Whole Wheat Biscuits, Dark Cocoa Karma
  • Whole Wheat Biscuits, Island Vanilla
  • Kids Berry Crumble Cereal
  • Kids Cocoa Crisp Cereal

Cereals With B12 That Are Maybe Vegan

The biggest problem that became obvious is that the cereal makers that add vitamins to cereals typically add vitamin D3 along with vitamin B12.

Vitamin D3 is the one vitamin that typically isn’t synthetic and isn’t vegan. It’s derived from the oil in sheep’s wool.

That being said, some vegans will still eat cereal with vitamin D3 in it. That’s because it’s in such a small amount that it would take several thousand boxes of cereal to add up to the oil that shearing a sheep would give.

So it comes down to what you feel is “reasonable,” which can differ from vegan to vegan.

On top of the D3, there are a few other ingredients that may or may not be vegan in many cereals:

Click those links to see my detailed overviews for each ingredient, then decide for yourself if you’re willing to eat them or not.

If you’re a little more relaxed in your definition of veganism, you may feel fine with eating many of the cereals below, that all have vitamin B12.

Cereal Potential Non-Vegan Ingredients
Kellogg’s All-Bran Complete Wheat Flakes cereal Sugar, Vitamin D3
Kellogg’s Corn Flakes Sugar, Vitamin D3
Rice Krispies Sugar, Vitamin D3
Raisin Bran Sugar, Vitamin D3
Wheaties Sugar, Vitamin D3
Frosted Flakes Sugar, Vitamin D3
Some Special K flavors Sugar, Natural flavors, Vitamin D3
Malt-O-Meal Breakfast Cereal, Raisin Bran Sugar
Cheerios Multi-Grain Vitamin D3
Total Whole Grain Sugar, Vitamin D3
Cocoa Pebbles Sugar, Vitamin D3, Natural flavors, Palm oil
Cocoa Puffs Sugar, Vitamin D3
Trader Joe’s “Joe’s O’s” (and other Trader Joe’s cereals) Vitamin D3
365 Everyday Value, Multi-Grain Morning O’s Vitamin D3

Some are obviously not as bad as others. There’s a decent chance that certain Malt-O-Meal cereals are actually vegan.

If you come across any other cereals you think fit on this page, please share them in the comments below.

About the author

Dale C.

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance writer. Trying to do my small part in making the world better by writing about the wonderful world of veganism.

Add comment