Are Clif Bars Vegan? [List of Vegan Flavors]


Verdict: Most Clif Bars are vegan.


  • All of the classic Clif Bars are vegan except for  the Peanut Butter & Honey flavor. 
  • Nut filled Clif Bars and Builder’s bars are vegan, but have palm oil in them.
  • Clif whey protein bars are not vegan because they have whey (from dairy).

Clif Bars are not super healthy, but they have a decent amount of protein, and taste great. Clif Bars are a good addition to any vegan care package.

Many types of Clif Bars happen to be vegan-friendly, and they’re easy to find in stores and on sites like Amazon.

There are 5 main types of Clif Bars, all with different core ingredients, so I’ve divided this guide into 5 section, each with its own detailed table. See those sections for specific flavors.

If you’re looking for a quick summary, here’s a high level overview:

Bar Type Summary
Traditional Clif Bar All are vegan except for “Peanut Butter & Honey”.
Fruit Smoothie Bars All are vegan, but all bars contain palm oil.
Nut Filled Bars All are vegan, but all bars contain palm oil.
Builder’s Bars All are vegan, but all bars contain palm kernel oil.
Whey Protein Bars None are vegan.

Those first 4 types are all dairy-free, but obviously the whey bars have whey in them, which is derived from dairy.

Non-Vegan Ingredients and Other Potential Issues in Clif Bars

Let me clarify a few things before we begin:

  • Allergens – All of these have that “may contain soy, nuts, milk, etc.” message. They are not safe if you have an allergy to one of those.
  • Palm products – Many Clif Bars have palm products in them, which is an ingredient that many vegans don’t eat. While palm is technically vegan, I’ve specifically pointed out which bars contain palm products. Luna bars (made by same company) also all contain palm oil in all their bars.
  • Natural flavors – Not all natural flavors are vegan (e.g. beef flavor comes from beef), and some bars do have natural flavors in them. But there’s no reason to think these would come from animal sources in my opinion.
  • Ingredients that may not be vegan – I’d like to point out that CLIF goes out of their way to get ingredients that are vegetarian/vegan friendly when possible. For example, they use pectin instead of gelatin, vitamin D2 (plant) instead of D3 (usually animal), and the most common form of vitamin B12 used in supplements.

Are Traditional Clif Bars Vegan?

clif bars

These are the easiest to find in stores, and have the most flavors.

All of them actually turn out to be vegan, and don’t use palm oil either, except for the peanut butter & honey bar.

Here’s the full list just so you know which ones I took a close look at:

Flavor Vegan? Non-Vegan Ingredients Palm Products?
Spiced Pumpkin Pie Yes    
Iced Gingerbread Yes    
Dark Chocolate Almond Yes    
Chocolate Chunk Yes    
Caramel Toffee Yes    
Peanut Butter & Honey No Honey Palm Kernel Solids
Chocolate Chip Yes    
Crunchy Peanut Butter Yes    
White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Yes    
Chocolate Brownie Yes    
Cool Mint Chocolate Yes    
Blueberry Crisp Yes    
Peanut Butter Banana Yes    
Chocolate Chip Peanut Crunch Yes    
Oatmeal Raisin Walnut Yes    
Peanut Toffee Buzz Yes    
Coconut Chocolate Chip Yes    
Sierra Trail Mix Yes    
Nuts & Seeds Yes    
Berry Pomegranate Chia Yes    
Carrot Cake Yes    
Chocolate Almond Fudge Yes    
Apricot Yes    

I’ll try to keep this updated if they come out with any new flavors.

Are Fruit Smoothie Filled Clif Bars Vegan?

clif fruit smoothie bars

There are only 3 flavors of the “fruit smoothie” Clif Bars.

All of them are vegan in the basic sense, but they also all contain palm oil, which you may want to avoid.

Flavor Vegan? Palm Products?
Strawberry Banana Yes Palm Oil
Wild Blueberry Acai Yes Palm Oil
Tart Cherry Berry Yes Palm Oil

Are Nut Butter Filled Clif Bars Vegan?

clif nut butter bars

There’s a handful of bars that are clearly marked “nut butter” on the label.

These are again all vegan in the sense that there are no animal products in them, however, there is palm oil in all of them.

Here are the flavors:

Flavor Vegan? Palm Products?
Chocolate Peanut Butter Yes Palm Oil
Peanut Butter Yes Palm Oil
Coconut Almond Butter Yes Palm Oil
Banana Chocolate Peanut Butter Yes Palm Oil
Chocolate Hazelnut Butter Yes Palm Oil
Caramel Chocolate Peanut Butter Yes Palm Oil
Blueberry Almond Butter Yes Palm Oil

Are Clif Builder’s Protein Bars Vegan?

clif builders bar

Next up we have one of the main types of Clif Protein Bars.

These are clearly marked “Builder’s” on them, and are again all technically vegan. I’ve done a detailed review of Clif Builder’s protein bars if you’re interested.

The potential issue again is that all Builder’s bars contain palm kernel oil, another palm product.

Flavor Vegan? Palm Products?
Chocolate Peanut Butter Yes Palm Kernel Oil
Chocolate Mint Yes Palm Kernel Oil
Vanilla Almond Yes Palm Kernel Oil
Chocolate Yes Palm Kernel Oil
Cinnamon Nut Swirl Yes Palm Kernel Oil
Crunchy Peanut Butter Yes Palm Kernel Oil
Cookies N Cream Yes Palm Kernel Oil

Are Clif Whey Protein Bars Vegan?

clif whey protein bar

Last up we have the whey protein bars, which are easy to spot because of their light blue label.

These are obviously not vegan because whey protein is a main ingredient, and it comes from milk.

Additionally, many bars have ingredients like dry milk powder, but I didn’t look too closely beyond confirming that they all have whey protein in them.

In summary, many Clif Bars are vegan by basic standards. Of those bars, some have palm products, and some don’t, so your options will depend on how you feel about palm.

Clif Bars Contain “Sustainable” Palm Oil

If you go to Clif Bar’s website, you’ll find a page saying that all their palm oil comes from sustainable sources. Here’s a quote:

Today, 100 percent of the cocoa ingredients we use in our food is organic or Rainforest Alliance Certified™

Is this palm oil ethically better?

I’ve read a lot about this topic, and “sustainable” palm oil from RSPO and Rainforest Alliance is likely a little better, but still not great.

In a 2017 study, researchers found that plantations that were certified were likely to be older plantations that were already built on deforested land.

Basically, other companies sold their deforested land to “sustainable” companies, and then can just plow down another forest. So overall, sustainable palm oil doesn’t mean too much at this point, and it’s essentially green-washing.

It’s up to you if you’re okay with that. If you are, you’ll also think Luna Bars are vegan, so they might be worth checking out.

About the author

Dale Cudmore

Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. I've spent over 6 years as a freelance nutrition writer and researcher. During this time, I've tested over 50 vegan protein powders, and over 100 other types of vegan supplements.


  • Hi Dale,
    Baby Vegan here and just looking around the internet trying to find options! I did notice that Cliff “nuts and seeds” has milk. Most likely an ingredient change that happened after you wrote this article.
    Thanks for the chart and tips!