CategoryEating Out

Is Lychee Jelly Vegan? Sometimes, Here’s Why…

I

The short answer is that lychee jelly is sometimes vegan. Lychee is a tiny red fruit that mostly comes from Asian countries. Inside the skin, it contains an edible white ball of fruit, with a texture almost similar to an orange. It’s usually turned into a lychee syrup or powder, which is one of the ingredients that lychee jelly for bubble tea is made from. What is Lychee Jelly Usually Made Of...

Is Bubble Tea Vegan? (Tapioca, Jelly, etc.)

I

Every street I walk down seems to have a new bubble tea shop opening up. The good news for vegans is that while not all bubble tea is vegan, many types are. I’ll break down the common and possible ingredients here, and go over which ones you should avoid. The Main Ingredients of Bubble Tea Every shop makes their bubble tea a bit different, but certain types of ingredients are consistent...

Are Burger King Fries Vegan?

A

At most places, fries are usually a safe vegan option. But at fast food restaurants like Burger King and McDonald’s, it doesn’t hurt to double-check. It turns out that their fries have quite a few ingredients. Ingredients in Burger King Fries French fries at Burger King, contain over 10 ingredients. Here’s the full list that we need to examine: Potatoes, Soybean Oil or...

Which Panera Bagels Are Vegan? (2020 List)

W

Panera Bread has a decent number of vegan options when it comes to bagels. The following bagels appear to be vegan-friendly: Plain Everything Blueberry Cranberry Walnut Sesame Bagels The only reason I use the word “appear” is because these bagels have sugar or brown sugar in them. In North America, some white and brown sugar isn’t vegan because it’s made using bone char.  However...

Is Movie Theater Popcorn Vegan? (AMC, Regal, etc.)

I

The fact that most movie theaters cheap out on their foods is actually a good thing for us vegans. A lot of the “butter” flavor that’s added to movie theater popcorn is actually made with soy oil and a few other ingredients. It depends on the particular theater, but a decent portion of movie theater popcorn is in fact vegan. I’ll go over the most popular theaters, but you’ll have to contact...

Is Domino’s Crust Vegan?

I

While many pizza chains have vegan crust, Domino’s is not one of them. I’ll try to keep this page up to date if anything changes, but you can always double-check the ingredients for yourself on Domino’s website here. Currently, there are 5 types of crust, and all of them have some sort of animal ingredient: Brooklyn crust – Whey Handmade Pan Crust – Whey, Natural...

Is Salad Dressings At Restaurants Vegan? (Italian, Vinaigrette)

I

When you go out to eat, salad becomes the go-to choice for anyone on a vegan diet. But unless you go to a vegan restaurant, it’s hard to know if salad dressing is or isn’t vegan. Obviously, it makes sense to ask, but even then not all waiters/waitresses know the ingredients in their dressings, or even understand what vegan foods are. So it depends on whether or not you want to take a risk that a...

Are Subway Cookies Vegan?

A

Unfortunately, as of now (October 2019), all Subway cookies have milk and egg ingredients. For example, their chocolate chip cookies contain nonfat dry milk, natural flavors that contain milk, and eggs. On top of those, there are controversial ingredients like palm oil, plus ingredients that may or may not be vegan like monoglycerides and sugar. In short, no Subway Cookies are vegan...

Vegan Breads at Subway [List]

V

All subs begin with bread. While many of Subway’s breads are clearly not vegan, some appear that they might be. I looked up the ingredients for all the different breads (as of October 2019), and summarized any potential non-vegan ingredients in the table below. Note that this is for bread in the United States, they might be different elsewhere. Ingredients in Subway Breads Most of the breads have...

Are Chow Mein Noodles Vegan?

A

A lot of Chinese food seems like it could be vegan friendly. This includes chow mein noodles. After looking up the ingredients in several store-bought and restaurant served chow mein noodles, it’s clear that some chow mein noodles are vegan, and some are not. More often than not they are vegan-friendly, but it’s far from safe to make that assumption. Are Plain Chow Mein Noodles...